72 Hole Foursomes ResultsYellow Golf Clubs icon

2018 72 Hole Mixed Foursomes Pacific Coast Tournament.

Mount Maunganui Golf Club 27th & 28th October 2018

Sponsored by: Pacific Coast Village and Pacific Lakes Village.

Support Sponsors: Giesen Wines & Mount Maunganui Golf Shop.

Weather dawned fine, dry and the course in immaculate condition, a perfect scene for the 48 pairs to

venture out for day 1 of the 2 day  - 4 rounds of Foursomes Matchplay.

Equal number of Local Mt Maunganui pairs  matched the number of visitors from the upper North Island.

Walton Golf Club  represented by 6 pairs, 2 pairs from Omaha Golf , 1 pair from Kerikeri and top women golfer, Brittney Dryland from Titirangi along with others from Auckland and Waikato clubs.

Pairs to watch being those who have won previously and seeking to take the trophy, included 2017 winners, Peter Kirk/Jo Trusler (Mt Maunganui), Martin & Raewyn Te Moni (Ngaruawahia) (2009), R Coleman & Phil Maddren (2010 and 5 times winners Mike & Laurel Flattery (2008 & 2012-2015).

Flattery’s got off to a good start with Mike scoring a “Hole in One” on the first day and  going on to feature in the final of win Group One with the Stanley Cup at stake.

In close contest with Lynette Whitehead  & Brian Jones (Ngahinepouri/Otumoetai), that reached the 18th hole, Laurel & Mike survived to win the contest, and the trophy for the 6th time.

A very successful Mixed Foursomes tournament.

Saturday:  Rounds 1 & 2.

Visions of winning the group were at stake in the first 2 rounds.

Group 1.          Pairs included the locals, Laurel & Mike Flattery, Rosemary & Rod O’Brien,  (Ngaruawahia), Lynette Whitehead &Brian Jones (Ngahinepouri/Otumoetai) and 

Lynda & Shane Tate ( Omaha) to contest the finak 2 round for the Stanley Cup.

Plate contenders included,  Christine &Roger Pears (Akarana), Leone & Andrew Wiggens (Omanu), Heather & Don Sharp ((Walton) and Raewyn & Martin Te Moni (Ngaruawahia) -2009 winners.

Group 2.          Leading pairs included Mt Manganui pairs -Vicki & Paul Fahy and SuzanneShaw & Blair McQuire with Megan Freer & Harm Drost ( Tauranga) and Karen & Karl Mold (TeAroha).

Plate aspirants were Akarana pairs Marian & Hugh  Kingham  (Hamilton), and locals, Elaine & Doug Kingsford, Janet Reekie & Phil Maddren, Judy George & Allan McLachlan.      

Aiming for the Plate were locals Joann & Kevin Neylon, June & John Winstanley , Yoshie & Masahide Kanno and Andrea & Duncan Ritchie..

Sunday:  Rounds 3 & 4.

Group 1           Group (Trophy) contest saw 5 time winners Laurel & Mike Flattery win in a close contest over Lynette Whitehead & Brian Jones (Ngahinepouri/Otumoetai).    

                        Plate was a match between visitors, with  Christine & Roger Pears (Akarana) won over Heather & Don Sharp (Walton).

Group 2           Group contest between visitors saw Megan Freer & Harm Drost (Tauranga) won over Karen & Karl Mold (Te Aroha).        

Plate resulted in Marian & Hugh Kingham (Hamilton) defeating locals Janet Reekie & Phil Maddren.

Group 3.          Group winners were Arlene & Adrian Joe (Matamata) who defeated Jenny & Derek Beard (Mt Maunganui).

                        Plate saw a Mt Maunganui pairs play off with Joann & Kevin Neylon defeating  June & John Winstanley .


Ray Horsfall

Tournament Convener